Last checked: October 16, 2026
Want to drop a line in Hokkaido without a boat, a rod or a single hook of your own? This tour does it from a harbor wharf in Otaru.
You meet a guide near Otaru Station and fish for about 150 minutes. The guide sets you up with a sabiki rig (a line with many small hooks) or a weighted line dropped right under the wall. Gear, bait and a life jacket are included. You fish from the shore, so there’s no seasickness.
One thing to know first: the guide speaks Japanese only. We built this guide from the KKday listing, JR Hokkaido’s fare table and Japan Meteorological Agency data.
HOKKAIDO REGION
Otaru, Hokkaido
Meeting point: Opposite JR Otaru Station, behind Dormy Inn Premium Otaru
From Sapporo: ¥800 on JR, about 45–50 minutes on local trains
At a Glance
- Price: from about US$45 per adult on KKday (as of October 2026). Gear, bait, life jacket and insurance are included
- Times: 09:30, 14:00 or 18:30. Each lasts about 150 minutes
- Meeting point: opposite JR Otaru Station, behind Dormy Inn Premium Otaru. The tour also picks up from hotels near the station
- Guide language: Japanese only
- Under 18: must come with an adult aged 18 or older
- Free cancellation: up to 4 days before
- From Sapporo: ¥800 on JR, about 45–50 minutes on local trains
Prices and available dates vary. Check the booking page before you book.
Is This Tour Right for You?
✅ Great if you…
- have never fished. The guide supplies the gear and bait
- worry about seasickness. You fish from a wharf, not a boat
- want a short activity between Sapporo and Otaru sightseeing. It takes about 2.5 hours
- are bringing kids. They can join with an adult aged 18 or older
- want to learn how to use your own rod. The operator gives advice if you bring it
⚠️ Think twice if you…
- need a guide who speaks English. The listing gives Japanese as the only language
- want to eat your catch cooked on the spot. No restaurant cooking service exists, as of September 2026
- want to chase big fish from a boat. This is wharf fishing
- are under 18 and want to go without an adult
When You Can Join This Tour
📅 When the tour runs
Open Part of the month Closed
KKday lists the season as spring to autumn, with catch examples for March to November. In 2026, dates from October 18 to November 23 are open for booking.
Source: KKday listing and booking calendar, checked October 2026.
Quick Facts
| Details | |
|---|---|
| Booked on | KKday, with instant confirmation. You show an e-voucher on the day |
| Operator | HORTO Sapporo (HORTO札幌), as shown on KKday |
| Meeting point | Behind Dormy Inn Premium Otaru, opposite JR Otaru Station (3-9-1 Inaho, Otaru / 北海道小樽市稲穂3-9-1) |
| Fishing spot | Kitahama Wharf (北浜岸壁) at Otaru Port. Conditions can move the group to Umaya-machi Wharf (厩町岸壁) or Shioya Fishing Port (塩谷漁港) |
| Length | About 150 minutes |
| Start times | 09:30, 14:00, 18:30 |
| Guide language | Japanese |
| Included | Gear, bait, life jacket, insurance, guide, tax |
Source: KKday listing, checked October 2026.
On weekdays the group mostly fishes at the wharves closer to town. On weekends and holidays it mostly goes to the quieter Shioya Fishing Port. You’ll learn the spot when you meet the guide.
How the Fishing Works
Sabiki
A line with many small hooks. You drop it and jig it to catch small fish that swim in groups.
Bura
A weight that also works as a reflector. You lower it right under the wharf wall to search for fish.
Light casting
Depending on the season and mood, you throw 20–30 m and wait. The operator says the wait can be long, but a big fish is memorable.
Float fishing is also on offer as an option. The operator also uses gear you can buy at 100-yen shops. That makes it easy to put together a similar set at home. If you bring your own gear, the operator will explain how to use it.
What it costs
Prices below are what KKday showed in October 2026 and change with the date and availability. Gear and bait are included even in the base ticket.
| Ticket (no gear option) | Price per person |
|---|---|
| Adult | about US$45 |
| Teenager | about US$42 |
| Student | about US$42 |
| Child | about US$38 |
The listing doesn’t define the age bands for Teenager, Child or Student. Check the booking page before you book for a child.
The gear options add to the adult price. These prices are for a 09:30 session on October 21.
| Gear option | Adult price |
|---|---|
| No gear options | about US$45 |
| Relax Set (a chair is provided) | about US$47 |
| High Rental (fishing gear plus a rig upgrade) | about US$52 |
| Sabiki Fishing Set (extra bait and chum provided) | about US$56 |
| Full Set (Sabiki Set, High Rental and Relax Set) | about US$63 |
If you’d like to sit while you wait, we’d pick the Relax Set. It costs only about US$2 more than the base adult ticket.

The guide only speaks Japanese. Will that be a problem?

It can be, because the listing names Japanese as the only service language. Before you book, we’d pick a quick message to the operator through KKday. Keep a translation app ready on your phone for the day.
What You Can Catch
KKday lists example fish for each season, and nothing is guaranteed. We matched each fish with its method from Honda’s fishing guide, but only for the methods this tour uses. A dash means no method is on record for that fish.
March – May
- Flounder (karei)light casting
- Okhotsk atka mackerel (hokke)sabikifloat fishing
- Pacific herring (nishin)method not reported
June – September
- Mackerel (saba)sabiki
- Horse mackerel (aji)sabikifloat fishing
- Rockfish (mebaru)method not reported
October – November
- Flounder (karei)light casting
- Mantis shrimp (shako)method not reported
All year
- Rockfish (ezo-mebaru, gaya)burafloat fishing
- Rockfish (shima-zoi)bura
- Korean rockfish (kuro-soi)light casting
The methods in plain words
- sabiki — a line with many small hooks that you jig for fish that swim in groups
- bura — a weight that also works as a reflector, lowered right under the wharf wall
- light casting — you throw 20–30 m and wait
- float fishing — the listing offers it depending on the season and mood
Source: fish from KKday’s Japanese listing, methods from Honda’s fishing guide, checked October 2026.
Mantis shrimp (shako) isn’t a fish. KKday lists it as an October and November catch.
You don’t need a fishing license for sea fishing with a rod. Hokkaido also has its own rules on what you can catch and keep. We cover them in our guide to fishing rules in Hokkaido.
Your Catch: Taking It Home
If you want to take fish home, bring a cooler bag. The operator can also prepare a cooler bag with ice packs for ¥1,100 if you ask. The listing doesn’t say how to pay for it, so ask the operator before the day.
As of September 1, 2026, the operator offers no service that takes your catch to a restaurant to be cooked. The guide can suggest where to eat after the tour.

Can a restaurant cook what I catch?

Not through this tour, as of September 2026. The listing says no such service exists. If you want fish to take home, bring a cooler bag or pay ¥1,100 for the operator’s.
Weather, Daylight and What to Wear
Otaru is cold outside summer. The table shows the average daily high and low and the monthly rain for each tour month.
| Month | Daily high / low | Rain in the month |
|---|---|---|
| March | 4.1 / -2.4°C | 87.3 mm |
| April | 10.9 / 2.6°C | 56.4 mm |
| May | 16.9 / 7.9°C | 53.7 mm |
| June | 20.4 / 12.5°C | 55.6 mm |
| July | 24.2 / 17.1°C | 93.6 mm |
| August | 25.6 / 18.4°C | 131.3 mm |
| September | 22.3 / 14.3°C | 131.7 mm |
| October | 15.9 / 7.9°C | 123.0 mm |
| November | 8.3 / 1.6°C | 152.4 mm |
Source: Japan Meteorological Agency, Otaru averages for 1991–2020, checked October 2026.
Sunset matters in autumn. In Sapporo it falls at 16:48 on October 18 and at 16:05 on November 23. We couldn’t find Otaru’s own times.
A 14:00 session ends around 16:30, so it finishes near sunset or after it. An 18:30 session is entirely in the dark. If you book in October or November, we’d pick the 09:30 session. It runs in daylight and ends around noon.

Is the 18:30 session worth it in November?

Only if you’re happy fishing in the dark and the cold. Sunset in Sapporo is at 16:27 on November 1 and 16:05 on November 23, and Otaru’s average November low is 1.6°C. Dress warmly.
What to bring
- Warm clothes, gloves and a hat for spring and autumn
- Rain gear
- Shoes you can walk in
- A cooler bag if you want to take fish home
- A towel
- Your phone with a translation app and your KKday e-voucher
How to Get There
From Sapporo
JR takes you from Sapporo to Otaru for ¥800 per adult (children pay half), according to JR Hokkaido’s fare table. Kitaca, Suica and other IC cards work on this route.
KKday says the Rapid Airport train takes 35–40 minutes. Local trains take 45–50 minutes, so plan on that.
These are sample weekday trains for the 09:30 session. They come from a Yahoo! Transit search for Wednesday, October 21, 2026:
8:06
Leave Sapporo
Arrive in Otaru at 8:53
8:17
Leave Sapporo
Arrive in Otaru at 9:08
8:25
Leave Sapporo
Arrive in Otaru at 9:15
Source: Yahoo! Transit, checked October 2026. Check the timetable for your own date.
We’d pick the 8:17 train. It reaches Otaru at 9:08, and the meeting hotel is a 2-minute walk from the station, according to Klook. The listing says the tour can be canceled if you miss the meeting time.
The last train from Otaru to Sapporo leaves at 23:08 and arrives at 23:53. An 18:30 session should end around 21:00, so you can still get back.
From New Chitose Airport
The JR fare from New Chitose Airport to Otaru is ¥2,040 per adult (JR Hokkaido fares). The fastest trip takes 73 minutes. Some trains run straight through to Otaru, but not all of them. A reserved seat (u-Seat) costs ¥840 extra.
Where you meet the guide
The meeting point is the back alley behind Dormy Inn Premium Otaru. The hotel is opposite Otaru Station. The hotel’s front can’t be used for pickup, so don’t wait there.
If your hotel is between Otaru Station and Otaru-Chikko Station (小樽築港駅), the tour picks you up near it. Hotels outside that area get no pickup. If you drive, the meeting point is the Lawson Otaru Iroinai 3-chome store (ローソン小樽色内3丁目店), near the fishing spot.
Where to stay
If you’re taking the 09:30 session, we’d pick Dormy Inn Premium Otaru. It’s the meeting point, and Klook lists it 200 m (2 minutes on foot) from the station.
- Price: from about US$75 a night on Klook (as of October 2026), rated 4.9 out of 5
- Check-in and check-out: from 15:00, and out by 11:00
- Payment: credit card only. The hotel doesn’t accept cash
- Breakfast: a buffet for about ¥3,000 per adult, extra
- Hot spring baths: Large tattoos aren’t allowed. A tattoo smaller than 8 cm by 13 cm is fine if you cover it with a sticker from the hotel
- Nearby: Sankaku Market (三角市場) is 100 m away
You can also browse more places to stay.
Traveling with a rod? See our guide to bringing a fishing rod to Japan. Need data for translation apps? See our guide to eSIMs for Japan.
Booking, Cancellation and Bad Weather
You book on KKday and get instant confirmation. Show the e-voucher to the guide on the day.
Cancellation
KKday’s cancellation policy (as of October 2026):
Weather
⚠️ Bad weather — The listing doesn’t say what happens to your booking if weather cancels the tour. Ask KKday before you book
- Late arrival — If you miss the meeting time, the tour may be canceled
What’s Included and What to Bring
| Included | Not included |
|---|---|
| Fishing gear and bait | Transport to Otaru |
| Life jacket | Meals |
| Insurance | Cooler bag (¥1,100 if you ask the operator) |
| Guide and instructor | Gear options (Relax Set and others) |
| Consumption tax |
Source: KKday listing, checked October 2026.
Some rules apply to the group:
- Anyone under 18 must come with an adult aged 18 or older
- Only people who booked can come along. The exception is an adult with a child under 3, who must tell the operator beforehand
- Staff are mainly people trained at marine vocational schools, according to the listing
Around Otaru After Fishing
The listing names Otaru Canal, Sakaimachi Street (堺町通り), Minami-Otaru Market (南小樽市場), the Wing Bay Otaru mall (ウイングベイ小樽) and sushi restaurants as nearby choices.
The 09:30 session should end around noon, going by the 150 minutes in the listing. We’d pick lunch in town, then sightsee in the afternoon.
FAQ
QDo I need a fishing license?
No. Sea fishing with a rod needs no license in Hokkaido. For the rules on what you can keep and which tools you can use, see our guide to fishing rules in Hokkaido.
QDoes the guide speak English?
No. The listing says the service language is Japanese. Message the operator through KKday before you book.
QCan I join in winter?
No. KKday lists the season as spring to autumn, and in 2026 its calendar has no dates after November 23.
QCan kids join?
Yes. Anyone under 18 must come with an adult aged 18 or older. An adult can bring a child under 3 if they tell the operator beforehand.
QCan I keep the fish I catch?
Yes. The listing tells you to bring a cooler bag, and the operator can prepare one for ¥1,100. No restaurant cooking service exists, as of September 2026.
QWhat happens if it rains?
We couldn’t confirm. The listing doesn’t say how weather cancellations or refunds work. Ask KKday before you book.
Ready to Book?
Fishing in Hokkaido can fit into a sightseeing day with no boat and no gear. We’d book the 09:30 session in autumn if you’re a first-timer who can manage a guide in Japanese.























































